Black Hills Circuit Race Results

20 03 2011

Results for the Black Hills Circuit Race are here: BlackHillsResults2011.

Please note (especially juniors, women, cat 5s) that you were the first races of the year. USA Cycling officials were dusting off cameras and had some issues early in the day. We got them squared away as much as possible. Thank you.

Thank you all that came out to Black Hills Regional Park on Saturday. We hope you enjoyed the venue and the course. Hopefully, the park staff and public enjoyed having our circus come through Boyds and people got to check out a REAL bike race in action!

If you see us at the races or on rides, please give us feedback, both positive and negative.

These results are final. As a reminder, it’s your responsibility to check the results after the race and make sure you got scored correctly. We had lengthly protest periods.

Hopefully, we can keep this venue around and make it a MABRA staple for years to come.

robb

Actions

Information

23 responses

20 03 2011
Gordan Van Hook

Will the gaps be resolved in the cat 5? I was in the 10-12 group that’s missing – of course I was 10th!

Gordan Van Hook, bib #515, USAC 311615

21 03 2011
Gordan Van Hook

Btw – just want credit for the race as it was #10 mass start needed to upgrade.

21 03 2011
vaughan obrien

Masters 1234 bib number 145. I finished in main pack sprint in a black kit and black helmet. It has me DNF. It looks like I was 18th. Not a big deal but just wanted to get credit.

21 03 2011
Tom

Same thing happened with me (I contested the sprint in the 4/5 and got DNF’d), but there’s only so much you can do – most races looked to have very shattered fields so I imagine it was nuts keeping track of who was OTB and who wasn’t.

Next time I’ll have to win so it’s clear where I’ve placed.

21 03 2011
Don Salamon

This was a great race! Hands down!

I was one of the 6th through 12th riders who are not on the results, any time frame on when this is going being resolved?

Thanks once again,

21 03 2011
Linda Mack

Thanks for a well run race on a great new course. Its just the sort of course we need more of. The results are none to accurate but it was the first race of the year with multiple fields combined.

It would be so great to have to the 2 junior fields actually start 1 minute apart as posted. The little guys have a much better chance of forming into a field when they aren’t tagged onto the end of the young (mostly) men. Having strong 14 year olds driving the pace is a lot different that strong 18 year olds.

21 03 2011
hfang

Thanks Bike Doctor for giving us this new venue. It was much more surprising and difficult than I expected. The hill was a good mix and over it so many times, it really started to hurt and take the punch out of you. Good clean racing with no crashes.

21 03 2011
Steve

It is frustrating to see a lot of people did not get credit for finishing. I hope we see at least some sort of official response from the promoters on this issue. We all understand it is not easy, but if people paid to put on a number they deserve to get credited with a placing if they did so.

22 03 2011
Tim

I’ve never seen so many places missed in a race. I would have stuck around to see the results (and protest, since I was left off too), but that was taking a long time. It’s really too bad that an otherwise great race was marred by the poor performance of those officials in charge of getting the results right.

22 03 2011
Tom

Well…. Yes, it’s really really frustrating. But the officials are volunteering to sit around all day and watch us roll by as we play on our bicycles. So I find it hard to get really pissed at them. Hopefully whatever kinks caused problems at this race will be quickly ironed out, but at the end of the day, the USAC folks are volunteers.

22 03 2011
Steven Walker

Last time I had officials work a race they were definitely not volunteers…they were paid for their time as well as room and travel.

22 03 2011
teambikedoctor

Folks,

We are clearing up a few of the results that we can.. However, all racers have the responsibility to check their results after the race to make sure they got scored. As the promoter, I kept the protest period open for much longer than 15 minutes anticipating protests.

Please go easy on the officials. They did the best job they could with splintered fields and it being the first race of the year at a brand new venue. I’m keeping track of all these issues to build on for the next time we organize this race or another. Look for a few updates later this week. My boss is wondering why I haven’t been productive lately!

Robb

22 03 2011
Chris

We all know that BD, Robb, etc. are doing what they can, so please don’t all ‘pile on’ – life happens – and this was probably not an ‘A’ race for most, so you got a race in, on a nice course, on a nice day with no real crashes – so focus on the positive. One minor suggestion for the promoters would be to possibly just report the placings/finishers list that you have to USAC, and not report the ‘dnf’ list, as it sounds like even with best efforts some actual finishers inadvertently were put on the dnf list.

22 03 2011
Steve

Agree with Chris above, at least report the field as finishers if you can’t get the places fixed.

22 03 2011
Spring Break Cycling « Phatpat.com

[…] past Saturday Clara and I drove up to Boyds, Maryland, for my first race of the year, the Black Hills Circuit Race. The course was a 1.5 mile loop with a 45 second climb and a lot of downhill after that. We did 10 […]

22 03 2011
Justin

I was in the top ten of cat 5, but see my name at the bottom. A little miffed. For my $25 I got… let me see…. a number. No goodie bag. No t-shirt. Maybe I missed refreshments. I would not complain about any of the latter, but when the family and friends now think I’m full of it after I told them I did fine… sort of makes me wonder why I showed up.

23 03 2011
Chris

Justin – you got in the mass start and it counts toward your upgrade, no matter where you finished or how it got reported – that’s all that really matters for Cat5s. You know you finished well, so be happy. If you’re wondering ‘why you showed up’ then maybe you should reconsider your reasons for racing…..

and seriously – you think most races give out ‘goodie bags, shirts and ‘refreshments’ – really? If you’re out there to get ‘free stuff’ then brother, you’re for sure out there for the wrong reasons…..

23 03 2011
Steve

There really is no excuse to not get the top 20 placings correct.

24 03 2011
Evan

Great Race. Are the results going to posted to usacycling?

24 03 2011
chris

Great race guys!!!

I’ll save my complaining and concern for real issues like Japan, Libya, Egypt..etc!!! Geez!!!

26 03 2011
chris

So BD reported all of the results to USAC – including the messed up DNP list from the Cat 5 and cat4/5 races –

7 05 2011
Andy

Ha! Awesome.

26 03 2011
Getting Schooled: Walton Park Criterium Race Report « The Bike Lane Race Team

[…] [Haymarket Bicycles] took a ride out into the clean air. I let it go. Darion – I knew from his performance at Black Hills – would be a threat. If he wanted to tire himself out ten minutes into a fifty minute race, I […]

Leave a Reply

